The Man from U.N.C.L.E

One word – Hilarious!! Absolutely hilarious!!

And yes, until I’d watched the movie, I had no idea that it was based on an American TV series from the 60’s of the same name. Call me ignorant. But then, maybe it was a good thing I went and saw the movie without any expectations or ideas of what it must be about. Only one thing I was able to deduce when my friends and I decided to watch the movies was that the acronym in the title had to do something with the U.S of A.

Apart from that, what really drew me to watch the movie were two things – Guy Ritchie (who wouldn’t, right?) and then, Henry Cavill, the Man of Steel! Armie Hammer, The Lone Ranger, didn’t catch much of my attention.. until the movie started.. but once the show began, I was lost on who I must cheer for.

Cavill or Hammer? Spoilt for choice!
Cavill or Hammer? Spoilt for choice!

What happens when a CIA agent and a KGB agent are made to work together for the welfare of the world? That is the storyline of the movie. Of course, on first glance, one would think it is a serious action movie.

The general opinion is something like this:

CIA ~ action flick (approx.)

CIA + KGB = action flick

But the seriousness stops at the CIA + KGB part. The entire movie is a laughter riot. The American, Napolean Solo (that’s Henry Cavill for you) and the Russian, Illya Kuryakin (that’s Armie Hammer) try their best to best each other at everything. And it sure is fun to watch. I am sorely tempted to tittle-tattle about a few scenes from the movie. But no.. I’ll keep my mouth zipped.

On a completely personal note, a few scenes in the movie seemed to have an Indian touch to them. Particularly the ones between Illya and Gaby (oh.. that is Alicia Vikander for you.. she’s done a good job as well). You can almost hear music from a Yash Chopra movie playing along in the background when those two are sharing the screen.

American, Russian, German.. are we not forgetting someone important? Like the British for instance? Hugh Grant comes to fill in as Mr. Waverly, the British, who is the head of U.N.C.L.E. Yes, he is no longer the Hugh Grant from Mickey Blue Eyes or Notting Hill.. But he definitely is still cute.. aged like a fine bottle of scotch, I tell you (But wait a minute, isn’t that reserved for George Clooney? Hmmm.. ok.. up to you to decide on that one!).

TOO MUCH OF STYLE IN ONE PICTURE!!
TOO MUCH OF STYLE IN ONE PICTURE!!

So before I break on my vow not to reveal anything on my blog that might harm the viewer’s/reader’s interest, I’m gonna sign off for now! 😉

If you are looking for a way to de-stress, do go watch the movie. That I watched on a Friday eve, after work, completely de-stressed me and I seemed to have had the best weekend in recent times.

Go watch The Man from U.N.C.L.E. You are in for a fun ride. Just sit back and let the jokes unfurl. And if you choke on your popcorn, remember – You have been warned!

P.S. U.N.C.L.E. stands for United Network Command for Law and Enforcement

Leave a Reply

