We’ll get through this, won’t we?

September 24, 2022.

A part of my life, probably the only constant in my life apart from my family, has finally come to an end.

Roger Federer finally called it a day. And as he broke down on court bidding adieu to the game he loves the most, I broke down along with the rest of the world, that includes his so called rival-turned-friend, Rafa Nadal.

Now, I am no sports writer. I don’t remember stats off the top of my head. So if you are looking for me to glorify some of Roger’s amazing numbers/achievements, then this post is not for you.

Growing up, cricket was an every day affair and it was only obvious to enjoy the sport. Though matches were not as many in number as today, it was still an easily accessible sport and you had a lot of idols to look up to and look forward to. Tennis was something I used to watch very rarely when my dad used to watch. I was intrigued by the sport, but never got around to loving it.

All that changed for me, not in 2003, when Roger won his first Wimbledon, but in 2006, when on centre court, he battled for his 4th Wimbledon title against Rafa. And I was spellbound. His game made me fall in love with him, and quite naturally, with Tennis. It made me want to pick up a racket and play. It was only through Roger that I came to love and appreciate the other greats of tennis. He was my entry into the world of tennis.

You didn’t have internet at the tip of your fingers back then. And most often than not, you didn’t even get to watch all his games because of timings and telecasting problems and homeworks and class tests and what not. But if anyone made me read an entire news report on The Hindu after game day, it was Roger. I grew up with Roger. And I grew up with the famous Roger-Rafa rivalry, which has now blossomed into FeDal, an amazing bromance. On days that Roger won, I celebrated with him and read whatever I could lay my eyes on about his victory. And on days that he lost some of the most challenging battles, I wept with him. I used to stay away from newspapers and news channels for a week or so after his defeat so that all that has to be said about his defeat has been said and I don’t have to read and cry again over it. In fact, I continued that practice till his last Wimbledon outing when he lost to Hubert Hurkacz. Only in recent times, it was not just newspapers and news reports that I had to stay away from, but all social media channels.

I’m not a superstitious person. But as far as Roger’s game was concerned, I was more superstitious than Rafa has ever been! And that is saying something. Towards the later stages of his career, when the wins were not as easily coming his way as before, I could not even watch matches alone because of the anxiety and needed the company of fellow Roger fans to watch from in between closed fingers. His games just became that personal. It was as if a part of your soul was latched onto him. Latched onto those graceful movements on court, those powerful forehands, those elegant backhands, etc etc.

With injuries making it difficult for him to come back, I knew the end of his career was near, and for the past few years, I’d even started saving up to go watch him play just once before he hangs up his cape. And as fate would have it, just when my Roger Federer fund was sufficient enough and I was all set to watch him play at his home tournament, the Basel Masters, next month, he announced his retirement last week.

Oh Roger.. if only I knew the end was this near, what all would I have given up to watch you play competitive Tennis, live, once in life!

Rafa rightly said that a part of his life leaves as Roger retires. So is it for me. So many changes in life, so many blurry faces, so many different phases – Roger Federer was my constant. And I will miss him.

Rog said amidst tears – We’ll get through this, won’t we?

I sure hope so.

To Roger,

Thanks for all the memories and heartbreaks. Even on your last match, you had to give us a taste of what it has been to be your fan for all these years. Thanks for making me fall in love with tennis. Wishing you the very best in your next phase of life with Mirka and the kids. You and Mirka will forever be the epitome of “Couple Goals” to me. Thank you once again.

Loads of love,

Forever your fan!

Leave a comment